top of page

About Panhandle RAC

In 1992, the State of Texas adopted formal rules and regulations governing the development of a statewide trauma system.   There are a total of 22 Regional Advisory Councils (RAC) in Texas.  The Panhandle RAC, Trauma Service Area A, was recognized in 1993 and covers twenty-five counties of the Texas Panhandle, an area of 24,998 square miles with a population of approximately 419,897.  The counties in the RAC are Armstrong, Briscoe, Carson, Childress, Collingsworth, Dallam, Deaf Smith, Donley, Gray, Hall, Hansford, Hartley, Hemphill, Hutchinson, Lipscomb, Moore, Ochiltree, Oldham, Parmer, Potter, Randall, Roberts, Sherman, Swisher and Wheeler.

ambus 1_edited.jpg


The Panhandle Regional Advisory Council's mission is to provide the infrastruture and leadership necessary to develop an inclusive emergency healthcare system within TSA-A.  The RAC seeks to achieve our mission through the following activities:

  • Assist our member organizations in providing the highest level of trauma care possible, resulting in a decrease in trauma deaths and long term disability.

  • Encourage activities designed to promote cooperation between member organizations and to provide a forum to resolve conflicts regarding the care of the injured patient.

  • Provide and facilitate public education and awareness though trauma prevention activities.

  • Develop a Regional Emergency Healthcare Plan and regional standards of care through the cooperative efforts of member organizations.

bottom of page